A L James

Erotic, amusing, and deeply spiritual, the 108 Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, posses you, and stay with you forever.

Book I
When Dharma student Anastasia X attends a meditation retreat run by young lama Lodrö, she encounters a Master who is enlightened, charismatic, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldy, innocent Ana is startled to realize she desires not only the Guru’s timeless teachings – but the man himself. Despite his Oriental reserve, she soon becomes desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Lodrö admits he wants her, too – but on his own terms.

Shocked, yet thrilled by Lodrö’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of spiritual success – his multinational sangha, his maroon robes and impeccable credentials – Lodrö is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately tantric affair, Ana discovers Lama Lodrö’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.


Book II
Daunted by the unconventional practices and dark secrets of the charismatic, tormented Lama Lodrö, Anastasia X has broken off their relationship to start on a new spiritual path with a Vipassana group in California.

But desire for Lodrö still dominates her every meditation session, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her powerful, driven and demanding Master.

While Lodrö struggles to maintain control over his Sangha, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the hundreds of attractive women flocking around her Master, and make the most important decision of her life.


Book III
When unwordly, introvert Dharma student Anastasia X first encountered the driven and dazzling young Lama Lodrö it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Lodrö’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Lodrö agrees.

Now, Ana and Lodrö have it all—love, passion, spirituality, enlightenment, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her maroon robed Master will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Lodrö’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Lodrö must find a way to uphold his appearance as a celibate ascetic.

Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

The 108 Shades Trilogy (108 Shades of Maroon; Darker; Freed)
by A L James

$39.95 (recommended price)
3 paperbacks in boxed set
Available in fine bookstores everywhere

1 010A L James is a Brooklyn-based writer, yoga teacher and professional dominatrix. A former student of several well-known lamas, tulkus, rinpoches, senseis, and roshis, she has revitalized Buddhist writing with a dark and kinky novel of epic proportions.

Although James herself describes the Trilogy as “adult spiritual fiction” it is also an unapologetically honest autobiography, shockingly powerful in its graphic descriptions.



In its clarity of exposition, in its eloquence, and in its awareness of the intimate relation between spirituality and eroticism, the 108 Shades Trilogy is in a class by itself, comparable with the best works of Georges Bataille and Brad Warner.

– Ken Dillinger.


1 thought on “A L James

  1. Pingback: Kenneth Folk vs the Speculative Non-Buddhists

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s